Australian-Swiss musician Dave Curl unleashes Lockdown – Seven Nations album

Independent Australian-Swiss singer-songwriter and producer Dave Curl has unveiled his sophomore LP, Lockdown – Seven Nations, which will be available on all major streaming services worldwide on February 23, 2024. The album follows the release of his scathing single, ‘Lockdown’, on January 19, 2024. Boasting over 1.5 million streams on Spotify, airplay on numerous indie radio stations in Germany and abroad, performances in the respected Kulturkoller Club and around 20 other locations as well as appearances at festivals like The Valley Summer Festival (Switzerland),  Dave Curl has shown no signs of slowing down since his solo debut in 2019. In the years since, the prolific performer has released nearly two dozen singles, two EPs, and the 2021 full-length album, Introducing. His newest project promises listeners an infectious and thought-provoking concoction of rock and roll.

Born and raised in Switzerland with English-Australian roots and currently based in Winterthur, Switzerland, Dave Curl began his musical journey as a teen, learning guitar under the guidance of a good teacher who encouraged him to write and play his own songs. However, it took another decade or two until he decided to pursue his urge for making his own music in a professional way. 

A child of the 80s and 90s, he draws influence from giants of the era such as Sting, Eurythmics, Chris Rea, Brian Adams, AC DC, Dido and Tracy Chapman, as well as luminary songwriters of today, such as Ed Sheeran, John Mayor, Jack Savoretti, Halsey and Jack Johnson. Having previously been compared to the likes of Milow and  Bono, Dave Curl’s sound is a soulful mix of folk, pop, and rock, his music is for fans of irreverent, anti-establishment music from the likes of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds and Lou Reed.

The single ‘Lockdown’ is a potent look at a world in chaos through the dissenting lens of rock and roll. 

An electric guitar opens the track on an urgent minor-key chord change. Electronic and organic percussive elements enter the mix with syncopated grooves. Dave Curl waxes lyrical about the state of the world caught in the throes of a global pandemic, from his perspective in quarantine. The song’s music video features contrasting images of the singer set in tranquil locations, juxtaposed against scenes of people suffering around the world in sickness and isolation.

Unlike a traditional album, Lockdown – Seven Nations puts this single song and theme in the hands of artists from Switzerland, Spain, Germany, France, India, Italy, and the UK offfering eight different versions of the song. Even when the language is foreign, the shared language of music enables the emotion to come through loud and clear. This LP is a unique body of work pooling profound insight from every corner of the globe in one awesome anthology.

Upcoming shows/tour dates 2024:

20 March – Thurbinäe Bar – Winterthur, CH 

17 May –  Café Kunterbunt, Winterthur, CH

15 June – – Winterthur, CH 

22 June – Weeding Fürstenau, CH


Lockdown – Seven Nations Album Tracklist

  1. Lockdown
  2. Lockdown (Swiss Rap Version) [feat. Noway]
  3. Lockdown (Spanish Rap Version) [feat. Madliv]
  4. Lockdown (German Rap Version) [feat. DOPEL’N]
  5. Lockdown (French Rap Version) [feat. Synay]
  6. Lockdown (Hindi Rap Version) [feat. Bindi Barz]
  7. Lockdown (Italian Rap Version) [feat. La Plata Vibes]
  8. Lockdown (English Rap Version) [feat. Creepzz]