Days Dreamt – The debut album by folk duo Burr Island

UK acoustic folk duo Burr Island have shared their debut album, Days Dreamt, on July 5th via Left Foot Records. The album premiered on notable publication EARMILK. The project was produced by Steve Cradock and mastered by Julian Lowe (Jamiroquai, Massive Attack). The band, composed of best friends Tom England & Oskar Porter, has received praise from industry giants like Robert Plant and Noel Gallagher. With 250,000 streams across all platforms for their first four releases, the future looks promising for the Burr Island boys. 

After recording at Kundalini Studios in Devon with Steve Cradock (Ocean Colour Scene, The Specials), their first five singles garnered support from several tastemakers, including CLASH Magazine, BBC 6 Music, BBC Radio 2, BBC Introducing, Radio X, and BBC Radio London via a live performance on Robert Elms’ show. The pair have toured as support for numerous acts like Ocean Colour Scene, playing at iconic venues such as Hammersmith Eventim Apollo & Barrowlands Ballroom. They also played to a sold out audience at Union Chapel, supporting Paul Weller as well as two sell out London headline shows.

Both band members trained as actors – however, during the Covid-19 lockdowns, the industry ground to a halt. The two would meet up and write music on the Jurassic Coast, and it was there that Burr Island came into being. Taking their inspiration from the works of Lennon/McCartney, Paul Simon, Crosby Stills & Nash, Nick Drake, The Beach Boys and Cat Stevens, the duo have been compared to other indie folk luminaries of our day, such as Fleet Foxes, Flyte and Kings of Convenience.

Days Dreamt is a divine and tender album, driving a gloriously 60s-soaked folky nostalgia into the present moment. The pair’s distincting, lilting vocals ensnare the listener from start to finish while sweet offerings are made from various instrumentalists to add colour to a project that is sonically delicate yet thematically potent – a triumphant first anthology. 

Days Dreamt Album Tracklist:

  1. Our Home
  2. Nunney Town
  3. Towers
  4. Distant Stars
  5. Later
  6. English Roses
  7. Your Eyes, My Eyes
  8. Loving You
  9. Mother
  10. Who Knows Where The Time Goes?